+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 86

Thread: How to fit an aftermarket Headunit to a Mk1 (2003-2005) C2

  1. #26

    Default Re: How to fit an aftermarket Headunit to a Mk1 (2003-2005)

    do you need any special keys etc to get the standard cd player out? i know some cars you need to just wana make sure...
    Black C2 VTS // K&N Panel Filter // Longlife Exhaust // Vibe Slicks 50s & 60s // Alpine IDA-X100 Headunit // MK2 Rears //

  2. #27
    Member Regular Poster C2kev is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    grimsby
    Posts
    350

    Default Re: How to fit an aftermarket Headunit to a Mk1 (2003-2005)

    Quote Originally Posted by Roberts123
    do you need any special keys etc to get the standard cd player out? i know some cars you need to just wana make sure...
    you need to make something like these, bent bit of wire


  3. #28

    Default Re: How to fit an aftermarket Headunit to a Mk1 (2003-2005)

    any piece of bent wire or can i buy um from an kinda audio shop?
    Black C2 VTS // K&N Panel Filter // Longlife Exhaust // Vibe Slicks 50s & 60s // Alpine IDA-X100 Headunit // MK2 Rears //

  4. #29

    Default Re: How to fit an aftermarket Headunit to a Mk1 (2003-2005) C2

    you can buy them from a shop or a bent metal coathanger also works
    '56' C2 VTR - FK's dropped 55mm - Pioneer DEH-P700BT - 10" Vibe Air II - Vibe 60's up front - Vibe 50's in the back - Fli Loaded 800 - Fli Loaded 1000 - Towbar - Now a shadow of its former self

  5. #30

    Default Re: How to fit an aftermarket Headunit to a Mk1 (2003-2005)

    ok kool and just literally push it into the holes 2 holes on either side yea...?
    Black C2 VTS // K&N Panel Filter // Longlife Exhaust // Vibe Slicks 50s & 60s // Alpine IDA-X100 Headunit // MK2 Rears //

  6. #31
    Full Member JonnyW is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Guildford, Surrey
    Posts
    936

    Default Re: How to fit an aftermarket Headunit to a Mk1 (2003-2005)

    Just thought i'd let people know, if anyone needs that adapter from Citroen and their Citroen isn't being helpful.. You can either pay me and i'll get it and send it to you or contact Freeborne Citroen at Guildford and see if they'll send you it etc.

    Very helpful down there

  7. #32

    Default Re: How to fit an aftermarket Headunit to a Mk1 (2003-2005)

    i managed to get one just...from citroen near me in bath
    Black C2 VTS // K&N Panel Filter // Longlife Exhaust // Vibe Slicks 50s & 60s // Alpine IDA-X100 Headunit // MK2 Rears //

  8. #33

    Default Re: How to fit an aftermarket Headunit to a Mk1 (2003-2005) C2

    i have a 2006 plate c2 but my dash looks like that so im assuming its a late mk1 , it also has the plain red tail lights . basically after fitting a aftermarket headunit my central locking is fucking right up . could this be the fix ?? many thanks if someone could help . kieran

  9. #34

    Default Re: How to fit an aftermarket Headunit to a Mk1 (2003-2005)

    been to citroen today to get the adaptor qouted in this thread , fixed the above problem with the locking now . cheers for a helpful thread

  10. #35

    Default Re: How to fit an aftermarket Headunit to a Mk1 (2003-2005) C2

    thanks for the guide my alpine works perfectly.
    just to say if you get a connects2 stalk adaptor (its about 30 + 5 for the conector for your radio remote input) you dont nead the citroen adaptor. my display froze when I removed the citroen radio I found that just disconecting the battery and plugging it in again sorted it out. thanks again

  11. #36

    Default Re: How to fit an aftermarket Headunit to a Mk1 (2003-2005) C2

    Would the adapter slove the problem of my headunit having no memory? I have been told to swap some wires but can't figure out which ones and I'm not spending 17 in Halfords for something I can get from Citroen for 5 (if it works).
    C2 Design 1.1 Bringing pizza to the people.

  12. #37
    Full Member Greg Greg Greg Greg Greg Greg Greg Greg Greg Greg Greg
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    C2 Model
    Megane R26
    Posts
    9,641

    Default Re: How to fit an aftermarket Headunit to a Mk1 (2003-2005) C2

    Quote Originally Posted by m1kbee
    Would the adapter slove the problem of my headunit having no memory? I have been told to swap some wires but can't figure out which ones and I'm not spending 17 in Halfords for something I can get from Citroen for 5 (if it works).
    Swap the red and yellow.

    So if its yellow to yellow at the minute, do it yellow to red.


  13. #38

    Default Re: How to fit an aftermarket Headunit to a Mk1 (2003-2005) C2

    I don't get what you mean. Yellow to red? The plugs go straight into my headunit. Does anyone know which wire is which?
    C2 Design 1.1 Bringing pizza to the people.

  14. #39
    Member Orta is on a distinguished road Orta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Planet Lincolnshire
    Posts
    54

    Default Re: How to fit an aftermarket Headunit to a Mk1 (2003-2005) C2

    Anything electrical always goes badly for me. On my last couple of cars I've just had the guys @ halfords do it. The guys are pretty descent @ the one near me. But if this adaptor is only available from Citroen I presume they won't be fitting it ??
    || 05 C2 VTS || 37k+ || 125 BHP 142NM || Vredestein x4 ||

  15. #40

    Default

    quick question guys, does anyone know what aerial adaptor i need for the mk1 as i thought you didnt need one but the headunit ive just bought has a different aerial connection
    Winner of 1st C2 Club Photoshop Competition My C2 Thread
    :: 1.1 Design :: Black Angels :: Smoked Lexus's :: 15" alloys (cheap and cheerful) :: Vibe SE-K60's :: Vibe SE-K50's :: VT* Spoiler :: Black Rear Valance

  16. #41
    Full Member C2Gavi is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    693

    Default

    should of got the aerial thing with it mate, if not pop in ur local shop & buy the correct fitment?

    i got one with my sony, but the din iso harness i bought had a built in one what fits! mine is mk2 mind.

  17. #42

    Default

    all sorted now thanks anyway
    Winner of 1st C2 Club Photoshop Competition My C2 Thread
    :: 1.1 Design :: Black Angels :: Smoked Lexus's :: 15" alloys (cheap and cheerful) :: Vibe SE-K60's :: Vibe SE-K50's :: VT* Spoiler :: Black Rear Valance

  18. #43
    Full Member fraser1873 is on a distinguished road fraser1873's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Glasgow, United Kingdom, United Kingdom
    Posts
    75

    Default

    great sticky, held me with my first bit of modification on my first car, cheers

  19. #44
    Full Member Greg Greg Greg Greg Greg Greg Greg Greg Greg Greg Greg
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    C2 Model
    Megane R26
    Posts
    9,641

    Default

    No problem, that's what it's here for.

  20. #45

    Default

    Hi there I have a MK1 Dash and had my cd player stolen out of the car, I have taken the car to Halfords and they didin't have a clue what wire did what and I also took it to Citroen who said they needed to get info from germany and charge me a arm and leg for the info........So I'm stuck. Can you please give me some advise on what wire does what as the power block has just the wires showing, Speakers block still ok.

    Many thanks

  21. #46
    Full Member SAL73R is on a distinguished road SAL73R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    C2 Model
    Fiesta Shaped C2
    Posts
    2,389

    Default

    I have just bought this part

    But my head unit still doesn't work properly. Anyone help?
    It wont turn off at all even when the ignition is off i did it exactly the way said.
    Last edited by SAL73R; 29-10-2010 at 06:31 PM.
    Sport Red '55 Plate C2 Furio - Sold :'(
    Yellow 30th Anniversary Ford Fiesta - Click
    All hail Lord Teddy <3
    Follow me on twitter @BigSaltz

  22. #47
    Full Member SAL73R is on a distinguished road SAL73R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    C2 Model
    Fiesta Shaped C2
    Posts
    2,389

    Default

    Anyone?
    Sport Red '55 Plate C2 Furio - Sold :'(
    Yellow 30th Anniversary Ford Fiesta - Click
    All hail Lord Teddy <3
    Follow me on twitter @BigSaltz

  23. #48
    Full Member DavidB is on a distinguished road DavidB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Barnsley, United Kingdom
    Posts
    650

    Default

    Just bought a h/u of Dan_C2, and he has crossed the wires, e.g red into yellow. Is this safe or is it worth my while to put red to red and buy the 5 adapter?
    Done - |Reedspeed Cat Back Stainless Steel Exhaust||Fli Sub||Stubby Arial||Sprayed Front Door Speaker Caps ||De-Wipered Back Window||Pressed plates||16" GT Alloys||Wind Deflectors||Black Angel Front Lights||Bonnet Struts||Black Lexus Back Lights||Lowered on Cituning Extra Lows||Smoothed Front Bumper|

  24. #49
    Full Member DavidB is on a distinguished road DavidB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Barnsley, United Kingdom
    Posts
    650

    Default

    + is the guide the same for a mark 2?
    Done - |Reedspeed Cat Back Stainless Steel Exhaust||Fli Sub||Stubby Arial||Sprayed Front Door Speaker Caps ||De-Wipered Back Window||Pressed plates||16" GT Alloys||Wind Deflectors||Black Angel Front Lights||Bonnet Struts||Black Lexus Back Lights||Lowered on Cituning Extra Lows||Smoothed Front Bumper|

  25. #50
    Full Member DavidB is on a distinguished road DavidB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Barnsley, United Kingdom
    Posts
    650

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SAL73R View Post
    I have just bought this part

    But my head unit still doesn't work properly. Anyone help?
    It wont turn off at all even when the ignition is off i did it exactly the way said.
    I have been out and bought this part today and the black end goes in to the wires coming from new h/u right?
    But there is nothing coming from the car that fits into the grey panel, really confused me, can anyone shed any light on the matter?
    Thanks in advance.
    Done - |Reedspeed Cat Back Stainless Steel Exhaust||Fli Sub||Stubby Arial||Sprayed Front Door Speaker Caps ||De-Wipered Back Window||Pressed plates||16" GT Alloys||Wind Deflectors||Black Angel Front Lights||Bonnet Struts||Black Lexus Back Lights||Lowered on Cituning Extra Lows||Smoothed Front Bumper|

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. C2 vtr- 2003.... Help!
    By Geardy1986 in forum Advice, Queries & Technical Problems
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-03-2013, 05:01 PM
  2. Help with fitting a new headunit to C2 MK2 2005
    By Jonney.corner in forum In Car Entertainment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-10-2012, 01:15 PM
  3. Fitting aftermarket headunit to a facelift(mk3) c2?
    By JMcaulay1 in forum In Car Entertainment
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-12-2009, 11:17 PM
  4. Putting in aftermarket headunit
    By kay_ in forum Advice, Queries & Technical Problems
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-05-2009, 04:28 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts