+ Reply to Thread

Thread: C2 VTS (2004) rough idle / engine hunt at 1,000 revs

Member N.L.Howell is on a distinguished road

Default C2 VTS (2004) rough idle / engine hunt at 1,000 revs

Evening all,

First time poster and I would very much appreciate some assistance.

My little C2 VTS (56k on the clock) seems to be unwell and has a rather annoying low idle rev hunt at 1,000 RPM. The needle just bounces and revs vary from mid-800 to low 700 hundred.

I have been looking online and reading various posts on the forum and I am wondering what people would suggest next.

I have replaced the following so far which has made no difference

ē Map Sensor
    ē Spark plus - Bosch Super 4
    ē Coil Pack
    ē ITG panel filter
    ē removed the throttle body and cleaned with Carb cleaner
    ē Iíve bought a crank sensor but not replaced as of yet

I have checked the manifold for any leaks and all bolts seem to be intact and in place

I'm not a mechanic but based on forum research I believe it could be injector/ fuel related but could of course be completely. I have disconnected the injectors one by one to see if any noticeable difference but nothing really jumps out at me apart from the EML coming on and the revs dropping
    When I spray a small amount of easy start into the induction opening this seems to cure the problem for a few seconds then it starts to hunt again

The EML isnít on and no-fault codes occur, I have only had the car since February but it does feel a little sluggish and you have to give it a few revs when pulling away to prevent in cutting out.
    I have recently had the timing belt and water pump replaced due to the vehicle age and the Bosch battery doesnít look very old.

I have read the lambda sensor and throttle body could be problem but Iím trying to eliminate things before spending money. The car was bought as a little run around and drives fine once going but traffic lights are bit of a pain with the car hunting and shaking